Short answer: there is no single development approval timeframe in South Australia, because "approval" is not one decision. Planning consent clocks are set by assessment pathway — 5 business days for deemed-to-satisfy, 20 for performance assessed without notification or referral, 50 where a referral is required, 70 where public notification is required, and 95 for restricted development — and every figure sits inside a five-business-day verification period at the start and a two-business-day issue period at the end. For performance assessed development the clock can also be stopped once when the authority asks for further information. Statutory time and elapsed time are therefore different numbers, and the difference shows up in your holding costs.
Key Takeaways
- "Approval" is several consents. Planning, building and land division consent are assessed separately, against different rules, often by different authorities.
- The clock is pathway-specific. Five business days for deemed-to-satisfy; 20, 50, 70 or 95 for the assessed and restricted pathways.
- Every clock sits inside a wrapper. Add five business days of verification before assessment starts, and two for the decision to issue.
- The clock can be paused once. Under section 119 of the Planning, Development and Infrastructure Act 2016 (PDI Act), the authority may request further information on one occasion only, and the period between request and compliance is excluded.
- Business days are not calendar days. A 70-business-day clock is roughly 14 weeks before any suspension or holiday gap.
- Historic averages are not forecasts. Council-level averages describe past samples, not one site's timeline.
Why "how long does approval take in SA?" has no single answer
A feasibility model needs to know how long the project takes from committed capital to sale. A planning publication tells you how long the decision-maker has to assess once the clock starts. Those numbers diverge, and the gap is where budget overruns accumulate. Four distinctions resolve most of the confusion: which consent you mean; statutory clock versus elapsed time; business days versus calendar days; and historic average versus site-specific forecast — each of which feeds directly into a property development feasibility.
First distinction: planning consent, building consent and land division consent are separate approvals
Planning consent is required where development may have a planning impact — building or extending a house, changing land use from office to shop, removing a significant tree. It is granted by a council, an independent accredited professional, or occasionally the State Planning Commission. Building consent covers building work, and may be required even where no building work is proposed, because a change in land use can trigger different fire safety requirements. Land division consent covers the creation, movement or deletion of boundaries.
One sequencing rule matters commercially: if land division consent is required, the development approval must also include a planning consent. An infill subdivision is never a single-approval project. The clocks differ, and do not simply add into one total:
| Consent | Assessment type | Business days |
|---|---|---|
| Planning | Deemed to satisfy | 5 |
| Planning | Performance assessed — no notification, no referral | 20 |
| Planning | Performance assessed — no notification, referral required | 50 |
| Planning | Performance assessed — public notification required | 70 |
| Planning | Restricted — public notification required | 95 |
| Building | Class 1 or 10 | 20 (+10 if referred to SCAP) |
| Building | Class 2 to 9 | 60 (+10 if referred to SCAP) |
| Land division | 10 allotments or less, no public road created | 30 |
| Land division | All other land division | 60 |
A project needing all three is running several clocks, not one. The NSW and SA planning systems differ here too — the statewide Code gives consistent pathway rules, but does not collapse the consents into one.
Second distinction: the statutory clock versus elapsed time
The figures above are the assessment clock. Three things sit outside it. Verification is a five-business-day period before the clock starts, checking that the application went to the right authority with the right information, and raising fees — and it can be reset if more information is requested. Issue adds two business days after the clock stops.
The suspension rule
Suspension is the largest and least understood gap. Under section 119(5) and (6) of the PDI Act 2016, in assessing planning consent a relevant authority may request additional information on one occasion only, must make that request within the period prescribed by the regulations — the PlanSA fact sheet on assessment timeframes puts this at within the first 10 business days of assessment time — and the period between the request and the applicant's compliance is excluded from the decision clock. Section 119(11) extends the same exclusion to time needed to respond to a representation.
So the arithmetic that matters is not the one on the government table:
Elapsed time = statutory clock + verification + issue period + every day you spent assembling the information response.
A performance assessed application with notification that receives one information request, and takes three weeks to answer it, can burn a full calendar quarter of holding cost while the statutory clock reads a number that looks reasonable.
When the clock runs out: deemed consent
Under section 125(2)–(4), if the authority does not decide in time the applicant may serve a deemed consent notice; on the day it is received, planning consent is taken to have been granted. The authority then has 10 business days to grant consent or grant it subject to conditions, and one month to apply to the Court to quash it. In Town of Gawler Assessment Manager v Brunt [2023] SAERDC 15 the matter turned on whether consent had been taken to have been granted the day the notice was uploaded, and the authority's application to set it aside was issued well outside that month.
Statutory clock 70 business days — assessment clock
Elapsed time (one information request)
5 20 days paused 40 days 2
Verification (5) Assessment to RFI (20) Suspension — excluded from clock Resumed assessment (40) Issue (2)
The suspension is excluded from the statutory clock but not from the developer's holding period.
The statutory timeframes by assessment pathway
Exempt development requires no approval. Accepted development — a carport, a shop fit-out, certain detached homes in Master Planned zones — requires building consent only; no planning consent. Code assessed splits into deemed-to-satisfy, for development meeting all Code criteria, which cannot be refused and is due after five business days, and performance assessed, for more complex proposals assessed on merit. Impact assessed splits into restricted development, Code-defined and assessed by the State Planning Commission, and impact assessed development — projects declared by the Minister as state-significant, requiring an Environmental Impact Statement. These categories and their assessment clocks are set out in PlanSA's guidance on stages and timeframes.
Two pathway features drive the larger clocks, and both are knowable before lodgement. Public notification involves adjacent land within 60 metres and a notice on the land, running 15 business days for performance assessed development and 10 to 20 business days for restricted proposals — which is why the table allots 15 plus 15 on the way to 70, and 20 plus 15 on the way to 95. Referrals apply where development may impact on matters another authority controls — the Environment Protection Authority, the Adelaide Airports Authority or SA Water — and can direct the outcome. The Act expressly allows applicants to obtain formal preliminary agreements with agencies before lodging, so assessment can proceed more quickly and efficiently. Confirming which pathway a site will land in, using tools such as SAPPA to check zoning and overlays in Adelaide, belongs in that pre-lodgement phase.
Third distinction: business days versus calendar days
| Statutory clock | Business weeks | Approximate calendar months |
|---|---|---|
| 20 business days | 4 weeks | ~1.0 month |
| 50 business days | 10 weeks | ~2.3 months |
| 70 business days | 14 weeks | ~3.3 months |
| 95 business days | 19 weeks | ~4.4 months |
The conversion underestimates in practice: a suspension gap is entirely calendar time even though it is not clock time, and verification can reset before assessment begins. The definition of "business day" compounds it — under the PDI Act 2016 it excludes Saturdays, Sundays and public holidays, and any other day falling between 25 December in any year and 1 January the following year.
What the official performance reporting does and does not tell you
The Performance Indicators Scheme monitors applications lodged, decisions made and assessment timeframes, drawn from the PlanSA ePlanning platform. Annual reports run from 2020-21 through 2023-24, the latest released on 19 November 2024, reporting among other things 84 per cent of restricted developments assessed on time, up from 78 per cent the prior year, and more than $5 billion of residential and commercial development approvals granted in the year.
These are genuinely official, and equally they are historical period metrics about system throughput and on-time performance — not a forecast of how long your application will take. A high on-time rate for restricted development says nothing about whether your site will be performance assessed or restricted, how many referrals it attracts, or how quickly you can answer an information request.
What the group's published planning research covers — and what it does not
Two references circulate in South Australia and are frequently, incorrectly merged. They come from different studies, different samples and different time windows, and must be read separately.
The 47–108 day range. Cyberate PM, which is part of the DDDI Group, publicly states that planning consent across Adelaide's metropolitan councils averages roughly 47 to 108 days, attributing that range to a sample of 400 applications lodged between 2020 and 2025. The source is explicit that these are averages and not a timeline for any one application. The limits on our side matter equally: no complete per-council breakdown is published, and clock start and end definitions, calendar-versus-business-day treatment, sample composition, per-council sample sizes and whether the figures are means or medians are not disclosed. For that reason this article does not construct a council-by-council table, and none should be inferred from the range endpoints.
The 20,000+ lodgement population
The 20,000+ figure belongs to different work: the RESI Australia Housing Market White Paper 2026, Chapter 2, describing more than 20,000 South Australian planning consent applications — specifically residential subdivision applications lodged through PlanSA between January 2022 and June 2025, across 18 Adelaide metropolitan councils, proportionally sampled. The chapter draws on original research credited to Percy Zhang, Dr Ruidong Chang, Dr Joy Fang and Dr William Jiang, which the publisher states received the Best Paper Award at the 48th AUBEA International Conference. DDDI's own page states the limitation directly: lodgements were proportionally sampled, and the published analysis does not state the sample size.
Why the two must not be merged
So the 20,000+ figure is a lodgement population and study scope, not "the analysed sample," and it is unrelated to the 400-application cohort. The two must not be combined, averaged, or used to imply a council-level result that neither study publishes. What the research supports is directional: pathway, verification time, referrals and public notification are associated with longer consent timelines, and the framing offered is that predictability matters more than raw speed, because extended timelines are the hardest scenario to finance and contract. No coefficient or ranking is reproduced here, because the original paper has not been reviewed for this article. On disclosure: Cyberate PM is part of the DDDI Group, so references to its research and services are related-party references, not independent third-party endorsements.
What approval timing does to a feasibility model
Approval duration enters a feasibility model twice, and both entries are money: interest on drawn funds, because longer approvals mean capital out with no revenue in, and fixed holding expenses that accrue whether or not anything is being built — council rates, land tax, insurance and site security.
Additional holding cost ≈ (extra days × average funded balance × annual rate ÷ day-count basis) + (monthly holding expenses × extra months)
Worked as an illustrative example — not a real project — using the assumptions applied across this article cluster: an average funded balance of $1,400,000, holding expenses of roughly $4,000 per month, interest of roughly $6,400 per month, and an 18-month programme. Total holding cost is therefore about $10,400 per month. A three-month overrun adds roughly $31,000; a two-percentage-point rate rise on that funded balance over 18 months is approximately $42,000 (1,400,000 × 0.02 × 1.5).
The day-count basis must be stated — 365 versus 360 days changes the answer — and the average funded balance moves as the project draws down and presales settle. That cost lands hardest where margins are thin — typically the small infill site where fixed holding expenses spread over few dwellings. It is a variable for a sensitivity analysis alongside price and build cost, and it is much of why a lender's view can differ from the developer's own — covered in feasibility versus bank valuation.
Want this modelled against a specific site? Cyberate PM's development feasibility service works through approval timing, holding cost and residual land value together. Cyberate PM is part of the DDDI Group, so that is a related-party service referral rather than an independent recommendation. You can also book a consultation if you would prefer to start with a conversation.
Where the approval schedule is actually controllable
Pre-lodgement completeness. Applications that spend longer in verification tend to end up with longer overall timelines, because verification duration reflects information completeness and rework risk. Decision-critical evidence — traffic, stormwater, heritage, arborist — belongs in the first submission.
Pathway clarity and referral readiness. Pathway is the strongest structural variable in the published research and is knowable before lodgement; referral triggers should be identified early and addressed through the preliminary agreement mechanism. Notification should be planned as a programme phase, not discovered during assessment.
Answer the information request fast. The suspension is excluded from the statutory clock but not from your holding period, and since the Act permits only one request for planning consent, the response window is the largest controllable block of elapsed time in the process. Build the programme with a suspension allowance, not the best-case clock.
Frequently Asked Questions
How long does development approval take in South Australia?
It depends on the consent and the pathway. Planning consent clocks run 5 business days for deemed-to-satisfy, 20 for performance assessed with no notification or referral, 50 where a referral is required, 70 where public notification is required, and 95 for restricted development — each inside a five-business-day verification period and a two-business-day issue period.
Can the assessment clock be paused in South Australia?
Yes, for performance assessed development. Under section 119 of the PDI Act 2016 the authority may request further information on one occasion only for planning consent, must make the request within the period prescribed by the regulations — within the first 10 business days of assessment time — and the period between request and compliance is excluded from the clock.
What is a deemed consent notice in South Australia?
The mechanism under section 125 of the PDI Act 2016 for when a relevant authority fails to decide within the prescribed time. The applicant may serve the notice, and on the day the authority receives it, planning consent is taken to have been granted. The authority then has 10 business days to grant consent itself or subject to conditions, and one month to apply to the Court to quash it.
Is the 47–108 day range the expected timeline for my site — and is it the same study as the 20,000+ figure?
No to both. The 47–108 day range is a historic average across metropolitan councils, attributed to 400 applications lodged between 2020 and 2025, and the source states that rankings are averages rather than a timeline for any one application. No complete per-council breakdown is published. The 20,000+ figure is a separate study — RESI's white paper Chapter 2, covering residential subdivision applications lodged between January 2022 and June 2025 across 18 Adelaide metropolitan councils, proportionally sampled with the sample size not stated. Different studies, different samples, different windows: they must not be combined.
The measurement frame
Separate the consents, because there are up to three and they run on different clocks. Separate the statutory clock from elapsed time, because verification, issue and the one permitted information suspension all sit outside it. Convert business days into calendar months, because that is the unit your interest bill uses. Then price the slippage rather than assuming the clock will be met exactly.

